Members of school budget cutting advisory committee named

Community members selected to recommend budget cuts for the Oshkosh school district include actively involved parents, small business owners, university employees and college students as well as a former state lawmaker, Common Councilor, the spouse of a board member, and at least one former district employee.

A total of 25 community members were recruited by school board members to sit on the advisory committee along with 19 current district employees who applied for the positions. They’re tasked with recommending budget cuts to close a deficit estimated somewhere between $2.6 and $4 million next school year.

District employees on the committee include two teachers’ union representatives, five principals and a broad mix of other employees.

The group had its first orientation meeting Wednesday night and will convene again at 6 p.m. Thursday to review the district’s financial forecast and initial budget cut possibilities. They’re expected to share their recommendations with the superintendent on Feb. 21.

Here is a full list of the committee’s members:

  • Nick Baus, community member
  • Mike Bennett, community member
  • Patti Bryant, community member
  • Steph Carlin, community member
  • Chloe Crandall, community member
  • Steve Cummings, community member
  • Dave or Jordan Edwards, community member
  • Sara Eliasen, community member
  • Jim Evans, community member
  • Lisa Hunter, community member
  • Alan Lareau, community member
  • Kristin Lasky, community member
  • Amber Leinweber, community member
  • Ken Liske, community member
  • Wanda Manning, community member
  • Justin Mitchell, community member
  • Wayne Mueller, community member
  • Jennifer Nason, community member
  • Zak Neubauer, community member
  • Kim Nguyen, community member
  • Catherine Scherer, community member
  • Bryan Schulz, community member
  • David Siemers, community member
  • Dick Spanbauer, community member
  • Eric Whiting, community member
  • Melissa Casper, teacher
  • Diane Friday, professional staff
  • Brenna Garrison-Bruden, principal
  • Ken Kandler, maintenance worker
  • Aaron Manders, principal
  • Phil Marshall, principal
  • Susan Martin, teacher
  • Lisa McLaughlin, principal
  • Amanda Potratz, professional staff and teachers’ union representative
  • John Reiland, teacher and teachers’ union vice president
  • Jim Resop, maintenance worker
  • Greg Ruark, other school employee
  • Jackie Schleicher, interim principal
  • Bill Stenz, teacher
  • Teresa Thiel, teacher’s assistant
  • Joseph Wagner, teacher
  • James Warren, teacher
  • Brian Wilson, teacher
  • Stephan Wucherer, teacher

About Adam Rodewald

Adam Rodewald is the senior reporter for The Oshkosh Northwestern and a member of the Gannett Wisconsin Media Investigative Team. He has been a professional journalist since 2006. He specializes in open records, data analysis, and issues surrounding education, children and families.
This entry was posted in Oshkosh Watchdog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply